Academy Awards

By Nadia – Year 10_MG_5231

Congratulations to all of the current and past learners of Bradford Academy who were presented with their academic certificates at the Academy Awards earlier this month.

The evening was conducted by two students- Megan Hartshorne – who is studying her final year of A-levels at the moment – and Hayden Barnes – who is currently in Year 10. It included a showcase of some musical talents, an array of awards for all areas of the school and certificates to students who completed their exams in the past academic year.

The two main awards of the evening were the Lifetime Achiever Award and the Albert Price Award. The Lifetime Achiever Award has been renamed The Gareth Dawkins Shield, in honour of Mr Dawkins. The nominees for Shield were Emily Armatage, Joshua Batty, and Dominika Kisielewska. Although all were deserving nominees, the winner was Dominika- who’s currently in Year 12.

The three nominees for The Albert Price Award were Kaine Cox, Megan Hartshorne, and Mikey Pearce. The winner was Megan Hartshorne who, when asked how it felt to win such a prestigious award, said: “I was so excited! To win is such a privilege especially since Kaine and Mikey are brilliant, and were both equally as deserving as I was.”

Ann Wilkinson-Cox, Director of Post-16, commented: “It’s a wonderful event where we can celebrate the hard work and achievements of our students. It’s great to see so many who have finished their time at BA and moved onto university or are already doing well in their careers.”

Jules Miller, Assisstant Vice Principal of Learning and Developmetn, concurred: “For me it is a sheer delight to welcome back our alumni students, the sense of pride and positive energy is tangible. The awards are very poignant and illustrate the best examples of exemplary learners at our Academy.”

Thank you to all of the parents and carers who attended to help us celebrate.

_MG_5305_MG_5515 (2)

Leave a reply